What Would I Do Without My Kids? The 2 Sides of the Coin.

As I lifted my 2-year-old out of her cot to embark on the school run and she nuzzled sleepily into my neck, I held her firmly and asked myself ‘what would I do without my kids?’

When she greets me with an enthusiastic ‘mummy’ or smiles at me and laughs at the things I do that nobody else deems funny.

When I share stories with my girls and the 2 little ones curl up, one under each arm.

When I watch my eldest growing up into a wonderful young lady with a mind of her own, a caring nature and an amazing bond with her dad.

When I’m having a rest and my 4-year-old says ‘I’ll close the door mummy so no-one disturbs you’.

When I say to my 2-year-old ‘it’s time for nap now’ and she replies ‘ok mummy’

Each time I watch them growing into bright, funny, confident, beautiful girls I am proud and thankful. At those times what would I do without them?

On the other hand

When I’m rushing to get out the door and my 2-year-old decides she must put on her shoes herself.

When orders are being barked from all directions at the breakfast table but I haven’t yet even managed my first cup of coffee.

When I’m struggling around the supermarket with my 4-year-old clinging to the side of the trolley, blocking up the aisles and my 2-year-old crying because she can’t have a chocolate bar.

When my 4-year-old wets herself for the 4th time that day .

When all hell breaks loose in the car because my 8-year-old wants to sing along to ‘Don’t Like Mondays’ but my 4-year-old wants to be the only one who is allowed to sing.

When the chaos of mess and noise is just too much….  I  ask myself again, ‘What would I do without my kids?’

  • I’d travel and write.
  • I’d go running with my husband and meet him for lunch
  • I’d have a social life after 6pm
  • I’d get involved in theatre again and be able to rehearse 3 times a week.
  • I’d never be seen in McDonalds drinking coffee with my jumper inside out and a friend who didn’t even notice.

But…..

What would I really do without my kids?

Some days I’d struggle to get out of bed or venture out of the house and I’d cry every time I saw a family enjoying themselves.

They’ve pulled me through the toughest times, giving me purpose, hope and unconditional love.

Without them life would be grey.

I’d never be without them.

blowing bubbles

6 thoughts on “What Would I Do Without My Kids? The 2 Sides of the Coin.”

  1. As mothers we certainly lose bits of ourselves, sometimes our confidence, often our figures, but on the odd occasion I find myself without mine I soon see how much less fulfilled my life would be without them.
    That was me, that friend in McDonalds, wasn’t it? Or have you shared your jumper seams with other friends??

    Like

  2. Just fab observations Rachel. When I think back to the various times when I laughed and cried with Matt and Hannah I wouldnt have missed them for the world.
    Now I can spend time in London with Matt buying me lunch and chatting about life in general.Then holidays with Hannah in Nice watching her grow into a fabulous and confident young woman. I miss them both terribly but relish every minute they choose to spend with me.
    We are so lucky to have such gorgeous kids.

    Like

  3. What a lovely post, I can so relate! Jumper inside out!? That’s hilarious! Good thing we had a life without kids BEFORE we had kids!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.