Do You Get Email in Heaven?

Hi Mum

It’s been 13 years since we lost you and I was just wondering if email had reached Heaven yet? I know you’ve never had an email address or the internet at home but I’m sure there are people there who could teach you.

I’m writing this on my blog. I don’t suppose you have any idea what that is? It’s a bit like a magazine or diary on the internet where I can write whatever I like and anyone can read it. If you get the internet up there check it out because you’ll see lots of pictures of your granddaughters. You have 5 grandchildren now, they are all amazing – you’d be so proud. I’m sad that you couldn’t be at our weddings and haven’t met the grandchildren you yearned for. I tell them how much they’d love you and how much fun they would have with you. If you can email, you could write some guest posts on the blog about all the things we never had chance to ask you. You could help us to identify garden plants and show us the essential things to do each season or teach us how to sew and crochet.

Things have changed a lot in 13 years. The world is a very different place. People carry mobile phones everywhere;  with phones you can take photos, check email, surf the internet, watch videos and listen to music. We can talk to our television, pause it and record more than one programme at once without needing a video player. You’d love this thing called Facebook, where you can find out what your friends are up to, chat to them or see photographs. Who knows, maybe you’re following us as we speak?

13 years is a long time, we’ve got a lot of catching up to do. If email ever reaches you please send me your address, I miss our little gossips and natters. Wouldn’t it be reassuring to know that no matter how far away we go, we can always be there for our children when they need us? I hope you can see what we are up to and that we are happy and having fun.

I expect the network is far too busy but maybe one day….

Thinking of you always.

Rachel x

mum

This entry was posted in death, families, memory, Random Thoughts & Life Stories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do You Get Email in Heaven?

  1. April says:

    Thank you for sharing this.
    I write a letter to my mum every year (we lost her 7 and a bit years ago). It helps a little, writing down the things you’d love to share.
    I’m so sorry she couldn’t be at your wedding or meet your children.

    Like

  2. Lovely post Rachel. I’m sorry I didn’t get to meet your Mum either x

    Like

Leave a Reply

