Preserving British Culture #2 Traditional Games

Last week I featured as a guest writer on Netmums Blog with a post entitled Playground Games from our Childhood. In this I talk about sharing my childhood games with my girls, games that are in danger of being lost if they are not passed down.

Moving abroad has made me more aware of my heritage. It is a little clichéd that when one moves away from home there is a sudden urge to become patriotic. Yes, I fly union jack bunting, I bake Welsh cakes for the soccer team and feel the urge to re-learn Welsh folk songs but it is not because I need to make a statement, rather that I want my girls to understand what being British means. We love embracing a new culture but I think it would be sad if our own childhoods were completely alien to the girls.

If you’d like to help to preserve traditional games for this generation then I’d love you to join in the link below with any posts about your own childhood games, traditions you have shared with your children or thoughts about modern play.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

This entry was posted in childhood, early education & play, games, parenting, play and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Preserving British Culture #2 Traditional Games

  1. I agree – preserving heritage and traditions is important. Renee

  2. This is a lovely post. Play is so important and it worries me that the pace of modern life and the ever present computer game is squeezing out the opportunity for children to enjoy free imaginative play. We used to make up our own games, and as boys were often involved some of them were quite dangerous – but we all survived!

  3. Your post for Netmums was great, I really enjoyed it! The playground used to be about engaging in games and using your imagination to create new ones. I think children need to embrace traditional games before they die out.

  4. Pingback: Free or Low Cost Summer Activities for Children | rightfromthestart

  5. Pingback: How to Be a Playful Family | rightfromthestart

Leave a Reply

