A Little Princess – A Tots100 Film Club Review

There were some lovely classic films to choose from this month and my 8 year old had a difficult time choosing, but as we had enjoyed the Secret Garden so much she chose another Frances Hodgson Burnett story – A Little Princess.

I watched some of it with my 3 year old who told me in great detail about why the Little Princess was sad

Her daddy died and the nasty lady made her do all the work and took all her things.

a little princess dvdThe story is a tale of imagination, positivity and hope but don’t expect to come away without shedding a tear or two. The key message of the film is that all little girls are princesses no matter what they look like or who they are -maybe not one for the femininist movement, but teaching girls that they are special is fine in my book.

There is a beautiful scene towards the end of the film involving the little princess and her dad – it brought tears to my eyes, especially pertinent as my girls had been without their dad for 3 weeks when we watched the film.

I was a little confused as to why the girl playing the little princess was American and the father was clearly British.  However, this has only encouraged me to read the book to discover where the original novel was set.

I think I’m becoming a bit of a Frances Hodgson Burnett fan.  Her stories talk of orphaned or lonely children and I’d be interested to read about her own life to see if any part of this is autobiographical.

The Little Princess is a stunning film visually as was the Secret Garden and is a family film in its truest form.

This entry was posted in review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

