Real Parenting Through the Eyes of Tim Minchin

The Real Parenting Revolution

I have just returned from a wonderful weekend in Edinburgh for my 40th birthday.  As part of the trip we went to see Tim Minchin. He was clever, funny, a stunning pianist and brave.  He has added a new song to his repertoire called lullaby.  How many of us have been in that situation when the baby is constantly crying and there is that very fine line between loving your baby and wanting to throw it out of the window?  I had one of those moments recently when I was sat in the car with noise and demands coming from all directions and I just wanted to shut the door, walk away and never come back.  We don’t do it because we love them and the benefits outweigh the tough times but I’m sure we have all had those fleeting moments.

A weekend away without the kids is a rare treat – did I miss them?  If I am honest no because I had the chance to be me for the weekend, to enjoy being a couple, to live at a different pace and forget about everyone elses demands.  On my return, how lovely to see the baby’s smiling face and have big hugs from my girls.  They always amaze me when I haven’t seen them for a day or 2, staggered by how tall they are or how amazing their vocabulary is and I appreciate them so much more.

This entry was posted in netmums, parenting, Random Thoughts & Life Stories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Real Parenting Through the Eyes of Tim Minchin

  1. Mostly Yummy says:

    Such a lovely post and I’m sure one that so many of us can relate to!
    P.S. Tim Minchin is my secret crush! Please don’t judge me ;-)

    Like

  2. Euuuckk to the crush!

    I love weekends away and frankly they do not come around often enough.

    Fab, Mich x

    Like

  3. sheonad says:

    as a fellow carnivalee i have popped over and having only just been introduced to tim i <3 The Lullaby… so, so, so true!

    Like

  4. Just got around to reading the imperfect parenting carnival. This song is hilarious and your observation about marvelling at how tall they are, etc… when you see them after a break, is so true. Makes it well worth going away!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Happy Blog Anniversary – Top 5 Posts of the Year | rightfromthestart

Leave a Reply

